Skip to main content
Table of contents

National Heritage List for England (NHLE)


The National Heritage List for England (NHLE) is the only official, up to date, register of all nationally protected historic buildings and sites in England - listed buildings, scheduled monuments, protected wrecks, registered parks and gardens, and battlefields. This data uses the British National Grid (EPSG:27700) spatial reference. It contains points and polygons for Listed Buildings, Building Preservation Notices and Certificates of Immunity. Data is updated daily.

‘Listing’ is the all-encompassing term for the legal protection given to a building, monument, structure or site through the planning system. It is recognition of historical, architectural or archaeological significance, intended to ensure that the character of the asset in question is preserved for future generations. The main types of Listing are:

Listed Buildings

Scheduled Monuments

Registered Parks and Gardens

Registered Battlefields

Protected Wreck Sites

World Heritage Sites

Usage licence

Open Government Licence



Geographic area


Start date

20 Mar 2023