Skip to main content
Table of contents

Conservation Areas


Conservation Areas in England as designated by Local Planning Authorities and compiled by Historic England

Conservation areas exist to manage and protect the special architectural and historic interest of a place - in other words, the features that make it unique. Every local authority in England has at least one conservation area and there are around 10,000 in England.Most conservation areas are designated by the Council as the local planning authority. In conservation areas there are some extra planning controls and considerations in place to protect the historic and architectural elements which make the place special.

This national dataset is “indicative” not “definitive”. Definitive information can only be provided by individual local authorities and you should refer directly to their information for all purposes that require the most up to date and complete dataset. Conservation area data has not been supplied for all local authority areas. Local authority areas without conservation area data are attributed with 'No data currently available for this district'.

Usage licence

Open Government Licence



Geographic area


Start date

01 Jan 2007